firefox extension

15 06 2007

textmarker.pngTextMarker is a great Firefox extension. It allows you to highlight text on web pages and has 3 customizable highlighter colours. Fascinating!!

After installation, to highlight text, just select the text then right click and click on Highlight Text. If you want to remove the highlighting, then just right click on the highlighting and choose Erase this Highlighting.

To change the colour:

1- Click on Tools | Add ons [a list of extensions will open depending on how many extensions you downloaded]

2- Click on the TextMarker extension. It will give you three options:  Disable, Uninstall and Options. Click on Options.

3- Choose the highlight colours that you want.

extensionspanel.gif
As you can see from the image, I have several extensions downloaded. The ‘copy plain text extension’ is excellent for the regular user, and the Web Developer Extension is great if you are  working on CSS or Javascript etc.

Actions

Information

3 responses

20 06 2007
mhaggag

Hey there! I’ve just noticed that you have a tech blog. Nice!

I see that you have the web-dev extension installed, are you a software developer? That’d be a great surprise, cause I’m a developer too.

To add something on-topic, though: Opera > Firefox 😛

21 06 2007
hakawi

lol yes, and i teach technology too and web development. Glad you found me here too. 🙂 I am just hoping I translate all this into Arabic because it was intended for my students and for the Arab speaking community, but I am barely having time.
🙂

23 06 2007
mhaggag

Interesting. So, where do you teach? I’d be surprised if in Egypt, because according to my experience at Ain Shams University, few professors have your level of intellect 🙂
Perhaps you teach at the AUC or something?

Also, do you develop software as a freelancer, or for a specific company?

As for Arabic translation, I might be interested in helping with that, depending on whether my Arabic writing style fits what you have in mind, and on the frequency of your posting (if it’s anywhere near the frequency of regular hakawi, I don’t think I’ll be able to handle it :D).

Leave a Reply

